Cozy up your Quarantine with some of my Faves

sarah-brown-5zoIpDzLbE4-unsplash

Hey, hi friends!

It’s been a HOT minute since I’ve posted one of these, *nervous smile* but thanks to The Artist’s Way (which I HIGHLY recommend and started in early March), I’ve been reconnecting to my creativity during this quarantined and laid-off life (yes, I’m one of the millions of corona-unemployed).

Seriously, BLESS. I’ve felt so disconnected to this integral part of myself since I left LA and moved back home to MD (oh yeah, that happened at the end of 2018).

Finally feeling like I have the mental space and temporal space to recharge my creativity and my connection to myself has been so so SO wonderful.

I know that not everyone is lucky enough to be feeling inspired and liberated during this quarantine life, so let me pose YOU a question: How the heck are YOU? Really.

Just know that whatever you’re feeling is totally normal and totally ok. From what I’ve heard and seen (and experienced! My mood certainly fluctuates), we’re all experiencing a myriad of emotions on a day to day basis. There’s a lot going on!

Whether you’ve been directly touched by this pandemic or you’re safe at home and healthy, all feelings are welcome. And remember that the urge to compare your suffering to other people’s suffering as a way to invalidate your own emotions is a pretty unkind thing to do to yourself. Please don’t do that. You need and deserve your own kindness now more than ever!

My therapist relayed something so wise to me way before all of this (oh yeah, I FINALLY started therapy last July):

“If your compassion does not include yourself, then it is incomplete.”

So remember to spread your compassion all over yourself just as much as you spread it out to the world, you little ball of loving light, you!

________

Ok. Let’s get to the meat of this post. I can properly catch you up on ME in another post :).

I know I can’t infuse my creative inspired state into you like I wish I could, but I CAN share with you some of the things I’m loving lately and maybe they’ll inspire you and lift your spirits, too. Keep in mind, i’m a super mercurial air sign in astrology, so you don’t need to be able to consume ALL of these things. Just pick and choose whatever lights you up and piques your curiosity!

Some of My Faves

Podcasts

I have more podcast episodes on my phone than I think i could finish in my lifetime so this is not a comprehensive list whatsoever but these are the top ones I’ve been listening to lately. I may do a full post for a longer list of pods and my fave episodes of each!

  1. Armchair Expert (used to be the highlight of my 1-hr commute! funny, informational, and heart-string pulling)
  2. Unf*ck Your Brain (free, no BS life coaching for every situation you could face)
  3. Ghost of a Podcast (relatable astrology that feels like really good therapy from your cool big sis)
  4. That’s So Retrograde (hilarious wellness, mysticism, and inspiration)
  5. Don’t Keep Your Day Job (encouraging and informational tips for dreamers to upgrade their life)

YouTube Channels

I just got into watching YouTube last year when a friend kindly suggested I start a channel. I didn’t start that channel but I started watching more and more and its replaced tv as my dinner time watching ritual!

  1. Jnaydaily (black girl magic. Funny and sweet lifestyle and home decor content)
    • She just moved to LA after living in NYC and I think we’re the same age!
  2. The Sorry Girls (Home DIY and Home Decor from everyone’s new Canadian bffs, Kelsey and Becky)
  3. Yoga with Adriene (free yoga vids for any and every mood you’re in and level you’re at from the loving and gentle Adriene)
  4. Popsugar Fitness (free workouts for any level and amount of time you have! Try their Hip Hop Tabata classes)
  5. Trey Kennedy (pure comedy. If you haven’t had a good laugh in a while, Trey is the cure)

Shows

I’m not really watching tv so much right now but here are some of the last shows I watched and enjoyed!

  1. The Goop Lab (binged this in a weekend with my mom. Soo interesting if you’re into alternative spiritual healing!)
  2. Parks and Rec (care-free laughs for half-watching while doing taxes/ computer tasks)
  3. Schitt’s Creek (pure feel-good comedy)
  4. Love Island UK (ok i’m totally bingeing this on weekends. Don’t judge me! I’m on season 2)
  5. Flea Bag (pure comedy genius. Emmy award winning for a reason!)
  6. Dollface (rlyyy funny, smart, and innovative look at female friendships and exes and the complications of both)
  7. Working Moms (Soo funny and relatable albeit a bit outrageous at times)

Books

I normally only read non-fiction but this quaran-life has got me making time for some fictional escapes from reality.

Spiritual/Inspirational

  1. The Artist’s Way, A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity by Julia Cameron (if you’re creatively blocked, do this with me)
  2. Spirit Hacking by Shaman Durek (HIGHLY recommend for spiritual lovers)
  3. Girl, Stop Apologizing by Rachel Hollis
  4. Meet Your Soul by Elisa Romeo

Fiction

  1. The Flat Share by Beth O’Leary
  2. Star Crossed by Minnie Darke (only in the beginning but its cute and astrology -themed!)

Movies

Clarification: These are by NO MEANS my fave movies. Perhaps I’ll need to properly look back in my memory to pull together one of those lists. However, I watched these recently and really liked them! Please ignore how late I am to the game with some of them.

  1. The Hate U Give
  2. Second Act
  3. Instant Family
  4. Plus One

Since this is so long already, I’m going to stop here but please let me know what you guys are loving nowadays!

I’m not gonna lie, I should have just made this a podcast list or youtube list because, honestly, those are the things that have 70% of my attention lately, but it was fun reviewing the other media I’ve enjoyed too.

Not featured on this list: Taking walks outside, cooking, my skincare faves, my cozy music selections, my journaling practices, my favorite snacks, my ventures into baking, my love for my plant babies, my astrology obsession (not fully at least), my fiddling on the guitar, my adult coloring book, and much more! Maybe we will need a part two, eh?

How the heck did i used to sign these off?

I’d love to hear from you in the comments. Share your ideas with me! Despite how much I consume, I’m always on the lookout for more cool stuff. In the past week, I’ve managed to discover 4 new podcasts that I’m now bingeing. (*nervous laugh* I have a problem)

Here’s to living as your brightest you!

cropped-brightly-signature.png

(This post was partially inspired by Katie Dalebout’s Let it Out Kit!)
(Photo source: Sarah Brown)

Leave a comment